By-polls: PTI wins both NA-247, PS-111 seats, loses PK-71 to ANP



KARACHI: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) emerged the victor in both of the metropolis seats, PS-111 as well as the coveted NA-247, according to the unofficial results from the 80 and 240 polling stations, respectively.

By-polls for the National Assembly seat NA-247, Sindh Assembly’s PS-111, and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly’s PK-71 were held today, with the vote count underway on PS-111.

The PTI’s candidate Aftab Hussain Siddiqui bagged 32,326 votes in NA-247, followed by the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s (MQM-P) Sadiq Iftikhar as the runner-up at 13,985 votes and the Pakistan Peoples Party-Parliamentarians’ (PPPP) Qaiser Khan Nizamani last at 13,012 votes.

As for the PS-111 constituency, Shahzad Qureshi of the PTI won with 11,658 votes, while the PPPP’S Muhammad Fayyaz Pirzada and the MQM-P’s Jehanzeb Mughal were second and third at 5,780 and 2,146 votes, respectively.

ANP wins PK-71

On the other hand, the Awami National Party (ANP) clinched victory in the PK-71 constituency in the by-polls today, stealing the Peshawar seat from the PTI.

Unofficial results from all 86 polling stations showed that the ANP’s Salahuddin secured victory on the PK-71 seat with 11,257 votes, followed by the PTI’s Zulfiqar Khan, who secured 9,854 votes.

The PK-71 seat had fallen vacant after Shah Farman was appointed as Governor Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Independent candidates Dildar Khan, Abdul Karim Khan, and Fazale Haq Kohi Damani also contested on the seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here