ECP accepts resignations of MPAS, MNAs bagging more than one seat

LAHORE: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday accepted the resignations of members of National and Provincial assemblies who were declared victorious in more than one constituency during General Elections 2018.
Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chairman opt to resign from NA-131 Lahore, NA-53 Islamabad, NA-35 Bannu and NA-243 Karachi while retaining his NA-95 Mianwali seat.
Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) president Chaudhry Pervez Elahi has decided to leave his NA-65 and NA-69 seats. He will carry on with his seat from PP-30 Gujrat.
Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president Shehbaz Sharif will keep seat from Lahore’s NA-132 constituency.
Former chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Pervaz Khattak will leave his provincial assembly seat and maintain the one won in National Assembly.
The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Saturday alloted seats reserved for women and minorities, raising the total number of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) seats in the national assembly to 158.
Following the allottement, the PTI has now been allotted as many as 28 reserved women and five minority seats in the national assembly, taking its total seats to 158.
It is followed by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) with 82 seats as the party will get two minority seats and 16 women seats and Pakistan Peoples Party is on third number with 53 seats as the party will get two seats reserved for minorities and nine reserved for women.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here