Fakhar replaces Usman in Pakistan T20 World Cup squad

T20 World Cup squad

LAHORE: Fakhar Zaman has returned to Pakistan squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, replacing leg-spinner Usman Qadir on Friday.

As per Pakistan Cricket Board announcement, Pakistan have made one change in their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia included Fakhar Zaman in the 15-player squad and the leg-spinner has moved to the traveling reserves.

The change was necessary as Usman Qadir is yet to recover from a hairline fracture on his right thumb. He suffered the injury during the 25 September T20I against England in Karachi.

Meanwhile, the top-order batter will arrive in Brisbane from London along with Shaheen Shah Afridi on Saturday and will be available for selection in the two warm-up matches against England (17 October) and Afghanistan (19 October).

Updated squad:
Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shan Masood.

Traveling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.

Schedule of Pakistan’s matches at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia 2022:

23 October – vs India, Melbourne 27 October – vs winner Group B, Perth 30 October – vs runner-up Group A, Perth 3 November – vs South Africa, Sydney 6 November – vs Bangladesh, Adelaide


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here