IHC grants 15-day time to federation for appointment of ECP members

Petroleum Crisis: IHC issues notices on petition filed by oil companies

ISLAMABAD: Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Tuesday has granted 15 more days to the federal government for the appointment of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) members.
During the hearing, the court was told that several members of parliamentary committee were unable to attend the meeting on Monday due to dense fog. The rules formed by the previous committee are not suitable in current scenario, legal advisor said.
The Chief Justice of IHC said the court can only expect that the opposition leaders and Prime Minister (PM) Imran Khan jointly select names for the posts. Only parliamentary committee can change the rules, he asserted.
The legal advisor said that parliament has ability to handle the situation if it commits any mistake over which, the CJ said that National Assembly should not do any mistake as it is representative of 22 crore people.
Subsequently, the hearing has been adjourned till January 15.
It is to be mentioned here that the government and the opposition forwarded their nominations for appointment of ECP members to Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser and chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjarani, who then forwarded it to the parliamentary committee for consideration.
Earlier, PM Office had raised objections on the names recommended by opposition leader Shehbaz Sharif for the appointment of Chief Election Commissioner. The suggested names were Nasir Mehmood Khosa, Jalil Abbas Jilani and Akhlaq Ahmed Tarar.
Jaleel Abbas Jilani remained principal secretary of former premier Nawaz Sharif and worked as chief secretary Punjab under CM Shehbaz Sharif.
Nasir Mehmood Khosa is considered close to Sharif family and Akhlaq Tarar has also worked as federal secretary.
Shehbaz Sharif maintained that PM Imran should have initiated this process of consultation a long time ago. I am starting this procedure to prevent the ECP from getting non-functional, the PML-N leader added.
The letter by PML-N president also comprised three names each from Sindh and Balochistan for their nominations as the ECP members. From Sindh, the opposition leader had recommended Nisar Durrani, Justice (retd) Abdul Rasul Memon and Aurangzeb Haq.
The names of Advocate Supreme Court Shah Muhammad Jatoi, former advocate general Muhammad Rauf Atta and Rahila Durrani were also proposed from Balochistan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here