Khawaja Asif disqualified for using ‘iqama’ to shield corruption: Imran Khan

SC dismisses petition seeking Imran Khan’s disqualification

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan said that Khawaja Asif has been disqualified for ‘using iqama to shield corruption & indulge in money laundering’.
Giving his response on the disqualification of Khawaja Asif for holding UAE iqama (work permit), the PTI chief said: “Another darbari of the Godfather disqualified on the same pattern – using iqama to shield corruption & indulge in money laundering – as well as being guilty of brazen conflict of interest”.
“Allah Al Haq hai – Kh Asif targeted SKMTH & has been publicly humiliated here & abroad,” he tweeted.
Following the disqualification of Foreign Minister Khawaja Asif, Usman Dar of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) said that his struggle of five years has bore fruit. He expressed his gratitude to Allah Almighty. Dar maintained that he has saved the people of Sialkot from godfather after 32 years. “I stood victorious in front of the Sialkot people. The party workers gave me strength and passion. The credit of today’s win goes to my leader Imran Khan,” he said.
Dar termed Nawaz Sharif and Khawaja Asif criminals and traitors. “My struggle against Asif was going on from the past five years. Today PTI has brought this case to logical conclusion. The foreign minister was receiving Rs16 lac per month salary from UAE in exchange of no work,” he said.
A three-member bench of the Islamabad High Court, headed by Justice Athar Minallah ruled Thursday that PLM-N leader Khawaja Asif ‘was not qualified to contest the General Election of 2013 from NA 110 as he did not fulfill the conditions described under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution, read with section 99(1)(f) of the Act of 1976.’
Dar in his petition had alleged that Asif was entitled to draw a salary which fell under category of receivable asset; however, since he did not declare it in the nomination form while contesting the 2013 general elections from NA-110, he did not qualify to remain a member of the National Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here