MQM-P candidate wins PS-94 Karachi by-polls

MQM-P candidate wins PS-94 Karachi by-polls

KARACHI: Muttahida Qoumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P) candidate Syed Hashim Raza has won the by-elections at PS-94 Korangi (Karachi-VI) by grabbing 21,537 votes.
According to unofficial results counting of votes for by-polls at PS-94 Korangi (Karachi-III) has culminated and Syed Hashim Raza has won the by-elections in PS-94 Korangi (Karachi-VI) by grabbing 21,537 votes, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ashraf Quraish could secure only 8970 votes.
Talking to media after MQM-P candidate’s victory in by-polls, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui said that the victory of his party is a victory of democracy.
Karachi is an economic hub of Pakistan, he said and added victory is not important but the democracy has gained confidence.
Earlier in the day, polling started amid tight security at all polling stations in the constituency. The total registered voters in the constituency are 246, 477, of which 136,808 are male voters and 109, 641 female votes have exercised their right to vote.
As many as 149 polling stations had been set up for PS-94 by-polls, while 16 candidates were contesting for the seat, said the ECP. CCTV cameras had been installed at all the polling stations.
The seat fell vacant on November 27 after the death of MQM-P MPA Muhammad Wajahat, who was suffering from cancer.
Wajahat had won the seat in the general elections by securing 32,729 votes; however his contender Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) candidate Muhammad Shoaibur Rehman had bagged 14,030 votes.
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) candidate Fareedullah and Muhajir Quami Movement-Haqiqi’s (MQM-H) candidate Arif Azam ranked third and fourth by bagging 13,636 votes and 10,828 votes, respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here