NA-120 by-polls: Unofficial results show close contest between PML-N, PTI


LAHORE: The compilation of polling results in the NA-120 by-elections is currently underway after voting ended on Sunday evening for the National Assembly seat which was left vacant by Nawaz Sharif’s ouster in the Panama case verdict.
According to the unverified and unofficial results, a close contest is being observed between PTI’s candidate Dr Yasmin Rashid and PML-N’s Kulsoom Nawaz — with no one claiming a considerable lead as yet. Kulsoom Nawaz has so far secured 12273 votes whereas PTI candidate Dr Yasmeen Rashid has bagged 1101 votes.
Over 321,786 voters registered in Lahore’s densely populated constituency voted to elect their representative to the National Assembly. There were 44 candidates in the run for the seat but the real contest was evidently between PTI’s Dr Yasmeen Rashid and PML-N’s Kulsoom Nawaz.
Voters were expected to turn up in good numbers at the polling stations in view of the intense mobilisation campaign by the prominent candidates.
The official results of the by-election will be released later by the Election Commission of Pakistan.
The NA-120 seat had fallen vacant after the Supreme Court disqualified former prime minister Nawaz Sharif in the Panama Papers verdict.
The highly-contested election has been viewed as a litmus test to see how the SC verdict affected those who have elected Nawaz to office thrice in since 1990.
A total of 44 candidates contested for the National Assembly seat from Lahore, with three major contenders.
While the ruling party fielded Kulsoom ─ the former prime minister’s wife ─ Dr Yasmin Rashid contested the election for PTI. The PPP had fielded Faisal Mir, the party’s former Lahore chapter information secretary, as its candidate.
The competition between Kulsoom and Rashid was said to be close. In the 2013 General Election, Rashid had received 52,354 votes against Nawaz.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here