NA-122: Election Tribunal disqualifies Ayaz Sadiq, orders re-election

LAHORE: In a massive upset for Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN), Election Tribunal has disqualified Speaker National Assembly Ayaz Sadiq as member national assembly and orders re-elections.
Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader Ayaz Sadiq stood victorious against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran khan in the last general elections.
The tribunal declared the elections null and void in NA-122 and PP-147 and ordered re-polling.
The Election Commission of Pakistan said Ayaz Sadiq would be denotified when the tribunals verdict was received.
A petition had been filed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan challenging National Assembly speaker Ayaz Sadiq’s victory in the 2013 elections. Khan who had been defeated by Sadiq in the constituency had claimed of widespread rigging.
According to reports Ayaz Sadiq will challenge the tribunal’s decision in the Supreme Court.
Speaking to the media outside the tribunal Ali Sadiq the son of Ayaz Sadiq said the tribunals decision did not state that his father was involved in rigging.
PTI Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi spoke to Geo News and praised the decision. He added that Ayaz Sadiq had the right to challenge the tribunal’s ruling.
Throughout the day the temperature outside the tribunal remained high as PTI and PML-N workers chanted slogans in favour of their respective leaders.
Earlier in the day the two charged up sides came close to clashing but the situation was kept under control by a large contingent of police commandos and policewomen deployed on site.
In order to keep the situation under control further police reinforcements were called on site including water cannon to disperse supporters in case they turned violent.
Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Imran Khan had earlier said that he would accept the decision and no protests will be held even if the decision is against the party but the decision vindicated his stance.
The tribunal also overruled the PP-147 result and re-polling will be held on both the seats now within next 60 days.
Ayaz Sadiq was elected speaker of the National Assembly following the May 11, 2013 general elections.
Imran Khan had challenged the election result of NA-122 before the election tribunal, accusing the PML-N of carrying out rigging in the constituency.
The tribunal had reserved the verdict on August 17.
A large number of PML-N and PTI supporters gathered outside the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) office.
The workers of both the political parties chanted slogans against each other.
A heavy contingent of police is also present at the site to avoid any possible clash among the political workers.
The counsel of PTI said that the tribunal would announce the verdict at 2 PM today.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here