New Zealand win toss, elect to bat against Pakistan in 2nd ODI

New Zealand win toss, elect to bat against Pakistan in 2nd ODI

ABU DHABI: New Zealand has won the toss once again and elected to bat against Pakistan in the second ODI being played at Sheikh Zaid Stadium Abu Dhabi. In the first match, New Zealand defeated Pakistan by 47 runs.
New Zealand have a 1-0 lead in the three-match ODI series and will be looking to seal the deal today in Abu Dhabi, after defeating Pakistan by 47 runs in the first match on Wednesday.
The two sides have faced each other six times in Abu Dhabi, with the Kiwis having the upper hand with a 5-1 winning ratio against the Green Shirts.
New Zealand, who are ranked third in the ICC ODI Team Rankings, kept the lid on Pakistan’s explosive batsmen with their strong bowling display in the first ODI. Trent Boult, who missed the T20I series as he was on paternity leave, made a strong comeback to the national team by becoming the third New Zealand bowler to claim an ODI hat-trick.
Defending 266, Boult reduced Pakistan to 8 for 3 after he dismissed Fakhar Zaman (one), Babar Azam (nought) and Mohammad Hafeez (nought) in the third over.He finished with figures of 3 for 54 as Pakistan were bowled out for 219 in 47.2 overs.
Veteran batsman Ross Taylor top-scored with 80 while wicketkeeper Tom Latham struck 68 off 64 balls to lead New Zealand to 266-9 after they won the toss and batted at Sheikh Zayed Stadium.
In response Pakistan crumbled to 85-6, before Sarfraz Ahmed (64) and Imad Wasim (50) added 103 for the seventh wicket.
However, once Pakistan skipper Sarfraz dragged a Colin de Grandhomme delivery onto his stumps New Zealand were almost home and dry.
Grandhomme took 2 for 40 while Lockie Ferguson finished with 3 for 36.Despite suffering heavily, Sarfraz slammed Ross Taylor for publicly questioning the legality of Mohammad Hafeez’s bowling action during the match.
In fact Pakistan were so miffed by Taylor’s action that they took the matter to match referee Javagal Srinath. Terming Taylor’s gesture as “disgraceful”, Sarfraz said that he should instead be focusing on his batting.
Pakistan (probable XI): 1 Imam-ul-Haq, 2 Fakhar Zaman, 3 Babar Azam, 4 Mohammad Hafeez, 5 Shoaib Malik, 6 Sarfraz Ahmed (capt, wk), 7 Shadab Khan, 8 Imad Wasim, 9 Hasan Ali/Faheem Ashraf, 10 Shaheen Afridi, 11 Junaid Khan
New Zealand (probable XI): 1 George Worker, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Tim Southee, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here