Pakistan announce squad for two Test matches against New Zealand

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board’s selection committee on Saturday announced a 15-member squad for upcoming Test matches against New Zealand, choosing to rest spinner Shadab Khan and Fakhar Zaman while including young fast-bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi.
The committee headed by Inzamam ul Haq said it announced the squad after consultation with Captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Head Coach Mickey Arthur. The squad will play two of the three Test matches in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) scheduled to begin from next week.
“The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions of the UAE, where Shahdab Khan and Fakhar Zaman have been rested from the Test matches and have also been advised to undergo training at the NCA,” said the press release.
Shaheen Shah Afridi has been included in the squad keeping his current form, said Inzaman.
Newcomer Saad Ali is also likely to make his Test debut for Pakistan in the upcoming series.
“Saad Ali [has been] included in the side after performing in domestic cricket and recent Pakistan ‘A’ series in the UAE,” said Chief Selector Inzamam.
The three match Test series will commence from November 16 in Abu Dhabi. The second Test match is scheduled to be played in Dubai from November 24, while the last match of the series will be played in Abu Dhabi from December 3.
The selected players are: Muhammad Hafeez, Imam Ul Haq, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad shafiq, Baber Azam, Saad Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmad (captain), Yasir Shah, Bilal Asif, Muhammad Abbas, Hassan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Faheem Ashraf and Mir Hamza.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here