Pakistan, New Zealand to lock horns in series-deciding ODI today

Pakistan, New Zealand

ABU DHABI: Pakistan take on New Zealand in the second and deciding one-day international (ODI) at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi today (Friday).
New Zealand have a 1-0 lead in the three-match ODI series and will be looking to seal the deal today in Abu Dhabi, after defeating Pakistan by 47 runs in the first match on Wednesday.
The two sides have faced each other six times in Abu Dhabi, with the Kiwis having the upper hand with a 5-1 winning ratio against the Green Shirts.
Trent Boult’s devastating bowling on Wednesday exposed Pakistan’s top order as he became the third New Zealand bowler to claim an ODI hat-trick, reducing Pakistan to eight for three in their chase of 267.
The 29-year-old dismissed Fakhar Zaman (one), Babar Azam (nought) and Mohammad Hafeez (nought) in the third over. While skipper Sarfraz Ahmed, Imad Wasim and Shoaib Malik tried to lift the innings with half-centuries, they could not fix the damage from the first 20 overs of the innings.
Sarfraz will be hoping that his top-order batsmen get some runs under their belt in today’s game.
The third and final ODI between Pakistan and New Zealand will be played in Dubai on November 11 (Sunday).
The match between Pakistan and New Zealand will start at 4pm Pakistan Standard Time.
Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan
New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling, Lockie Ferguson, Ajaz Patel, George Worker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here