PAT-led APC sets Jan 7 deadline for resignations of Shehbaz, Sanaullah

PAT APC on Model Town

LAHORE: The All Parties Conference (APC) led by Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) ended with a January 7 deadline for Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif, provincial Law Minister Rana Sanaullah and others responsible for the Model Town incident to resign.
PAT President Tahirul Qadri opened the press conference with Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Qamar Zaman Kaira reading out a 10-point statement outlining the demands.
Addressing the joint press conference Dr Tahir-ul-Qadri told journalists that in case the January 7 deadline is not met, their steering committee will announce the future plan of action on January 8, which may include sit-ins in Lahore or across the country.
Qadri had earlier addressed the conference and began by thanking the party delegations for their participation.
He had said that it is not his doing that over 40 parties have come to the same table, but the political leaders have gathered to stand against oppression.
“They have come together in support of the judiciary, the army and state institutions,” he said. “The blood of the innocent people killed in the incident is what unites us today.”
“The Sharifs ordered the police to open fire and then they tell us to go to courts for justice,” said the PAT chief, adding that there can be no justice till the Sharif brothers are power.
Slamming Nawaz Sharif and his party further, the cleric said the former premier’s lifelong deeds led to his disqualification.
“Your character has been revealed in the Panama Papers case and now you are planning to run away and leave Pakistan, which is why you are seeking help from foreign powers, claimed the PAT chief while referring to the Saudi visit by the Sharif brothers.
“However, they can not save you now, nothing can save you now.”
Warning the incumbent government, Qadri said that they have the option to protest, conduct sit-ins or take other measures which are deemed necessary in their quest for justice.
Leaders from PSP, PPP, PTI, MQM, PML-Q and other parties will present a joint front against the government in protest against the 2014 Model Town tragedy in which 14 people were killed and scores injured.
Qamar Zaman Kaira, Rehman Malik, Manzoor Wattoo and Latif Khosa are representing Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), while delegations of Pakistan Muslim League-Q (PML-Q) and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) are also present at the conference.
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Jehangir Tareen, Aleem Khan, and Shafqat Mahmood are also present at PAT’s secretariat.
Qadri has stepped up demands for the resignation of Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif and Law Minister Rana Sanuallah after the release of the Model Town inquiry report prepared by Justice Baqir Najfi commission.
PTI and PPP have meanwhile assured PAT of support for getting justice for the victims of the incident.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here