Peshawar beat Karachi to clinch national T20 title

RAWALPINDI: Brilliant bowling display by Imran Khan Junior followed by explosive batting from Iftikhar Ahmed and Mohammad Rizwan helped the spirited Peshawar Region to beat a star-studded Karachi Blues side by seven wickets to clinch the national Twenty20 title here on Tuesday night.
At one stage, the required run rate had climbed to almost 12 but both Rizwan and Iftikhar kept their composure to win the match for their side with seven balls to spare.
Iftikhar made 57 not out in just 40 balls with two fours and four towering sixes while Rizwan remained unbeaten at 58 off 34 deliveries with eight fours and a maximum.
Opener Rafatullah Mohmand also contributed well scoring 43 off 23 balls with six fours and two sixes.
Earlier, Peshawar skipper Zohaib Khan elected to field after winning the toss.
Superstar wicket keeper batsman Sarfraz Ahmed made unbeaten 47 off 26 balls, hitting six fours for Karachi Blues. Opener Khurram Manzoor scored 41, Khalid Latif 23, Asad shafiq and Fawad Alam 19 each and Shahid Afridi 15 to help their side reach 177 in 20 overs.

Both Imran Khans lived up to the legacy attached to their names with the junior taking three wickets for 26 and the senior grabbing two for 35 in their 4 allotted overs. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here