PML-N wins Punjab’s Khanewal by-poll

KHANEWAL: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) candidate Rana Muhammad Saleem has been declared successful in PP-206 Khanewal by-polls with 47,985 votes. The unofficial results of all 183 polling stations have been announced.

The seat had fallen vacant after the death of PML-N rebel MPA Nishat Ahmad Khan Daha on October 23. Saleem’s victory is followed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Noreen Nishat Daha who bagged 33,875 votes.

Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) candidate Syed Wasiq stood third with 15,233 votes while Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) Sheikh Muhammad Aqmal got 9,678 votes.

The polling continued from 8am to 5pm. Security arrangements had been made at all 183 polling stations in the constituency. Presiding officers were instructed to keep their location on mobile phones while taking Form 45 photos on the polling day.

PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif while congratulating the party workers on winning by-election said, “Khanewal’s election is a recognition of PML-N’s public service in South Punjab”.

“I thank and commend the hard work of party leaders and workers,” he added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here