PTI’s parliamentary party to name Imran Khan as PM tomorrow

PTI's parliamentary party to name Imran Khan as PM tomorrow

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan has summoned a meeting of the party’s newly elected members of parliament in Islamabad on Monday (tomorrow) as he has secured the support of 174 MNAs against 172 required to elect him as the new prime minister of the country.
PTI secretary information Fawad Chaudhry said the meeting will be held at a private hotel in the federal capital where party chief Imran Khan is likely to be formally named as its pick for the coveted post of premier.
He said all newly elected MNAs have been instructed to be in attendance at the meeting.
The PTI is said to be enjoying the support of 125 MNAs which included independent members. However, its tally reaches 174 with addition of its small coalition partners and reserved seats for women and minorities.
The Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q), Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P), the Sindh based Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) and Awami Muslim League (AML) have allied with the PTI to help it form the new government at the Centre.
The PTI, which is now in a comfortable position to elect Khan as the next prime minister, is said to have also finalised the names of party leaders who will be part his cabinet.
As per procedure, if a party has a clear majority or the magical number of 172 votes, it can easily elect the Leader of the House in the National Assembly.
The PTI emerged as the single largest party with 115 seats in the 2018 general elections but fell short of a clear majority in the 342-member house.
According to the Constitution, if the PTI chief manages to secure 172 or more votes in the first round, the president is bound to call him to take the oath as the country’s next prime minister.
In case, he doesn’t get the required number, then there will be a second round of voting between the top two contestants for the slot. In this round, the winner will not need at least 172 votes but the contender who gets the majority of votes will be elected leader of the lower house.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here