Rain stops Pakistan-New Zealand ODI in Dubai

Rain stops Pakistan-New Zealand ODI in Dubai

DUBAI: Heavy rain interrupted the third one-day international as New Zealand were chasing a daunting 280-run target set by Pakistan in Dubai on Sunday.
New Zealand were 35-1 after 6.5 overs when the umpires signalled for a stoppage in play after light rain turned into heavy showers.
Pakistan scored 279-8 after they won the toss and batted. Babar Azam (92), Fakhar Zaman (65) and Haris Sohail (60) all chipped in with half-centuries to bolster Pakistan´s chances of winning the series which is tied at 1-1.
New Zealand paceman Lockie Ferguson finished with a career-best 5 for 45.
New Zealand are without their regular captain Kane Williamson who had to pull out of the match with a groin injury, leaving Tom Latham to lead the side.
The series stands levelled at an intriguing 1-1 after Pakistan beat New Zealand by six wickets in the second ODI in Abu Dhabi on Friday, fueled by pace bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi who recorded his career-best bowling and opener Fakhar Zaman who hit a half century.
Imam-ul-Haq has been rested owing to a head injury he sustained after being hit on the head by a short ball from fast bowler Lockie Ferguson during the second ODI. Imad Wasim is also not part of today’s playing XI.
Haris Sohail and Asif Ali are in.
On Friday, Shaheen´s 4-38 kept New Zealand down to 209-9 in their 50 overs before Zaman returned to form with a run-a-ball 88 for his seventh fifty to guide Pakistan to their target for the loss of four wickets in 40.3 overs.
With the win Pakistan broke a four-year losing streak of 12 consecutive ODIs against the Black Caps, starting with a 3-2 defeat in the UAE in 2014.
New Zealand had also beaten Pakistan 2-0 (in New Zealand 2015), 2-0 (in New Zealand in 2016), 5-0 (in New Zealand in January this year) and in the first match of the current series by 47 runs in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.
Playing XI
Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi
New Zealand: George Worker, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (c & wk), BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here