West Indies women opt to bat against Pakistan in first T20I

West Indies women opt to bat against Pakistan in first T20I

KARACHI: West Indies women won the toss and opted to bat against Pakistan women in the opening T20I at Karachi’s Southend Club on Thursday.
Pakistan women are playing their 100th T20I today. The two sides are meeting for the first time in Pakistan since 2004, when the Windies women toured the country for a Test and seven-match ODI series in Karachi.
In 99 T20Is to date, Pakistan have won 40 and lost 56. In contrast, the West Indies have featured in 112 T20Is, winning 65 and losing 41. Head to head, the West Indies lead Pakistan 6-1 in nine T20Is.
The Windies’ return to the country marks the resumption of women’s international cricket in Pakistan. “I think right now we are heading in the right direction when it comes to bringing back the cricket in Pakistan,” Windies captain Merissa Aguilleira said at the trophy unveiling ceremony.
“I am urging that other teams come back to Pakistan because the people love cricket which is most important to do as ambassadors of the sport,” she added.
Pakistan captain Bismah Maroof said the West Indies tour sends the right message. “Definitely, this tour was important for the promotion of women’s cricket,” said Maroof.
“I feel honoured and privileged to captain Pakistan in their 100th T20I. And to captain in a home series, is even more pleasing,” Maroof said.
Approximately 1,000 police and paramilitary forces will also be on hand to provide security at The Southend Club where all three matches will be played.
Pakistan: Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Irum Javed, Javeria Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Nida Dar, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper) and Omaima Sohail
West Indies: Merissa Aguilleira (T20I capt), Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Chinelle Henry, Kycia Knight, Natasha McClean, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman and Rashada Williams.
T20 series schedule
January 31 – 1st T20I, Southend Club, Karachi
February 1 – 2nd T20I, Southend Club, Karachi
February 3 – 3rd T20I, Southend Club, Karachi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here