Karachi test: Clueless Pakistan management makes silly error

Clueless Pakistan management makes silly error during Karachi Test

The Pakistan team management made a silly error during the ongoing Karachi Test as viral flu hit the Men in Green.

A few players including captain Babar Azam were not present in the field because of the viral flu, said the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in a press release.

During his absence, vice-captain Mohammad Rizwan, who was not part of the playing XI, took the field as captain and a substitute fielder on day three.

According to the International Cricket Council (ICC) law 24.1.2, A substitute shall not bowl or act as captain but may act as wicketkeeper only with the consent of the umpires.

With team management unaware of the law, Rizwan initially captained the side in the first session, before the Match referee and on-field umpires interfered. He was spotted changing the field, which any fielder can do.

However, the Pakistan team management had been told that substitutes were not allowed lead a side on the field, and clarified that Sarfaraz was the stand-in captain.

New Zealand opener Tom Latham struck a brilliant ton in reply to Pakistan’s 438 total.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here