MQM-P refuses to join federal cabinet

MQM-P refuses to join federal cabinet

ISLAMABAD: The MQM-Pakistan (MQM-P) has refused to join the federal cabinet and extend support to the broad-based Shehbaz government from the outside.

Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, chief of the MQM-P, said that instead of being part of the federal cabinet, they are interested in solving the problems of Karachi and other parts of the province.

Party had detailed discussion with the fellow leaders of the coalition government about the formation of the government. The MQM-P have put the issues of Karachi and other areas of the province before the leaders of the coalition and are more interested in the implementation of these commitments.

The commitments made are significant and to be fulfilled, he added. He did not comment on the observations made by former Karachi mayor Wasim Akhtar, where he took exception to the maiden speech of Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif in the National Assembly Monday over not mentioning commitments with the MQM-P in the speech.

The MQM-P had two slots of the federal cabinet in the ousted government of the PTI. Syed Aminul Haque was IT minister while Senator Farogh Nasim was the law minister, representing the MQM-P in the government They had resigned after MQM-P decision of supporting then the opposition no trust motion against Imran Khan.

The sources said the MQMP was offered two slots in the federal government, Sindh’s governorship and about half a dozen slots in Sindh cabinet beside municipal charge of three big cities of the province including Karachi mayorship. No decision has yet been taken about assuming these assignments.

While in another unrelated political development, the PTI members belonging to South Punjab had an important meeting Tuesday evening at an Iftar-dinner at the Islamabad Club. They discussed situation arising out of the decision of Imran Khan regarding quitting the National Assembly immediately and later resigning from other assemblies. Former federal minister Syed Fakhar Imam, former minister Sardar Nasarullah Khan Dreshak, Kh Sheraz Mahmood, chief whip of the PTI in NA Aamir Dogar, Raiaz Fatiana, Sardar Talib Hussain Nakai were also among the participants in the discussion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here