Parliamentary panel meets today to decide name for ECP Chief


ISLAMABAD: The parliamentary committee formed for the appointment of members of the Election Commission of Pakistan will meet today to consider the government and opposition’s proposed names for the vacant seats from Sindh and Balochistan and the appointment of Chief Election Commissioner.

The panel, which will be chaired by Human Rights Minister Dr Shireen Mazari, comprises eight members from the National Assembly and four from the Senate. The government and opposition are equally represented in the committee with six members from each side.

Under the parliamentary rules, the panel has to make a decision with a two-third majority, which means that in order to approve any individual for the post, the nominee’s name should be supported by at least eight members.

For the vacant seat from Sindh and Balochistan, the opposition has recommended the names of Shah Muhammad Jatoi, Muhammad Rauf Atta and Rahila Durrani from Balochistan and the names of Nisar Durrani, Justice (retd) Abdul Rasul Memon and Aurangzeb Haq from Sindh. The government has proposed the names of Dr Faiz Kakar, Naveed Jan and Amanullah Baloch from Balochistan and the names of retired judges Sadiq Bhatti, Noorul Haq Qureshi, and Abdul Jabbar Qureshi from Sindh.

The Islamabad High Court (IHC) had directed National Assembly speaker and Senate chairman to ensure that the committee reaches to a decision on the appointments by December 7.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here